DCNHS Datu Bago ’03: Then And Now

Standard
DCNHS Datu Bago ’03: Then And Now

Straddling down memory lane, I could clearly remember how it feels to be a high school student in City High.ย  From 1st year to 4th year, “survival of the fittest” seemed to be the ultimate motto of those who wanted to remain in the honor section. Although it was never a crime to be in the general section, most of us were so eager to remain on top of the game. When we finally became 4th year Datu Bago students, we were more comfortable with each other.

Most of us had our own group of friends. Afterall, “birds of the same feather flock together.” However, during competitions and events like jingle making contest and cheerdance competition, there was always unity and camaraderie among us. No wonder, we won a lot of contests and events during our time. I remember how we would proudly shout our “traditional and famous” Datu Bago cheer whenever our section was hailed as the winner or champion. I remember how we would spend sleepless nights rehearsing for a particular contest. I could clearly remember the fun, thrill, excitement, happiness, and other emotions I felt every time. For sure, everybody in our class felt the same.

When we parted ways, I felt different emotions – I felt sad because we won’t get to see each other that often anymore (unless magka classmates sa college). However, I also felt happy because it was about time to take a new step further, another phase in our lives.

"Salad days" is an idiomatic expression, referring to a youthful time, accompanied by the inexperience, enthusiasm, idealism, innocence, or indiscretion that one associates with a young person. This photo was taken during our yearbook pictorial last 2003 in a photo studio located in San Pedro, Davao City. It was indeed the days of naivete. We were so "nenengs" and "totoys" then.

“Salad days” is an idiomatic expression, referring to a youthful time, accompanied by the inexperience, enthusiasm, idealism, innocence, or indiscretion that one associates with a young person. This photo was taken during our yearbook pictorial last 2003 in a photo studio located in San Pedro, Davao City. It was indeed the days of naivete. We were so “nenengs” and “totoys” then.

10 long years went by so fast that I didn’t notice how much we’ve become mature – mentally, emotionally and physically. Many years ago, daily quizzes, class recitation and exams were the primary part of our daily battle. But then today, we work for our daily survival, basic needs and wants, our family and of course, our dreams. (dinagko na jud among problema.haha!)

Our first Datu Bago reunion happened last 2013 (if my memory serves me right). Thank God Facebook exists! We were able to contact each other and pursue a meeting, then a reunion.

And so the meeting went smoothly…(with Jows, Francis, Erwin, Shie and I)

db3db4db5db6

Few days after, nadayon ra jud… ๐Ÿ™‚

I could sense how happy everyone was during our reunion. Of course, we invited our Datu Bago adviser, Tatay Nelson Fabiosa.

I could sense how happy everyone was during our reunion. Of course, we invited our Datu Bago adviser, Tatay Nelson Fabiosa.

db10

db11

db13

During the program, there was something that really bothered me – kanang muadto sa atubangan unya mag-speech. I don’t know why I always feel scared in front of them. I feel so confident talking in front of other people except them. Ambot nganong nerbiyoson jud ko haha!

db19

Anyway, overall it was such a fun-filled night. We knew we had a lot of catching ups to do. We talked and laughed a lot. It felt so great knowing that some things are still the same, yet I could actually feel and see the changes in our lives.

Datu Bago: Then & Now…

db2

Just look how naive, excited and happy we were during our high school days. I could not remember what event this was, but I am certain it was during our 4th year.

10 years went by and here we are. (nanagko na! haha!) The girls are prettier now. The boys, on the other hand, are still the same. Joke! Seriously, binata na kaayo sila. And the queens (Dinoy, Jows, Paolo and Snivak)??? Still gorgeous! haha!

db7

db8

db16

More than 10 years have passed, yet Dinoy (the queen insigida in our classroom) never fails to make us laugh with his silly lines and jokes. ๐Ÿ™‚

Datu Bago18

db15

db17

Where Are They Now?

I truly believe everyone of us is chasing after our dreams. Some of us are making a difference in the society – pursuing an amazing career, doing something noble for the people, doing something they are passionate about and leading a meaningful life.

When we were in high school, I remember how eager she was when it comes to securing photo copies of our lessons and studying them for our quizzes and exams. But never did I imagine she would become a doctor. I was a bit surprised but not that much though (isa pa, it suits her). And blooming si doc, in fairness :)

When we were in high school, I remember how eager she was when it comes to securing photo copies of our lessons and studying them for our quizzes and exams. But never did I imagine she would become a doctor. I was a bit surprised but not that much though (isa pa, it suits her). And blooming si doc, in fairness ๐Ÿ™‚

Next one is Paolo. Guess what? Presidential Awardee lang naman siya ni President Noynoy Aquino. I actually thought Pao would become a famous make up artist because I remember he joined a particular make up contest back then. (Pao, pag adto nakog Cebu make-up-i jud ko! haha!)

Next one is Paolo. Guess what? Presidential Awardee lang naman siya ni President Noynoy Aquino. I actually thought Pao would become a famous make up artist because I remember he joined a particular make up contest back then. (Pao, pag adto nakog Cebu make-up-i jud ko! haha!)

And of course, Erwin is making a name for himself in his own field. As a field service engineer, he gets to travel from one country to another for free. Traveling for free + having the opportunity to see the world, that's a fabulous combination. I even wrote an article about my interview with him last June of this year. That article has already reached almost 1,000 views (and still counting) from various readers worldwide. charot!

And of course, Erwin is making a name for himself in his own field. As a field service engineer, he gets to travel from one country to another for free. Traveling for free + having the opportunity to see the world, that’s a fabulous combination. I even wrote an article about my interview with him last June of this year. That article has already reached almost 1,000 views (and still counting) from various readers worldwide. charot!

Most of my former Datu Bago classmates are certified nurses working here and abroad, while others are managers, businessmen/women and engineers. Some work in the bank. As far as I know, some are having their Master’s degree. But of course, others are proud teachers and educators. Ako??? Eto, model. Charot! hahaha! Kidding aside, I work as a content producer/writer.

model6

Anyway, we really missed each other. In fact, after our reunion we stayed at McDo Matina for a while and took some photos together. #picturepamore!

db21db20

Indeed, being a Datu Bago will always have a special place in our hearts. For me, they are like the sisters and brothers I never had.

 

 

 

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

